Friday Ambush Makeovers on the “Today Show”

October 19, 2009 § Leave a comment

UPDATE:  If you want to see one of the best Ambush Makeovers, and fan reactions, to date, see this post from Friday, July 26th, 2013.  Denise Williams did not recognize herself.  It was amazing.  To keep up on the weekly Ambush Makeovers on KLG & Hoda (now on Thursday rather than Friday), check them out here.  Just scroll down to Ambush Makeovers under Topics in the left-side navigation.

I will admit it, I am a sucker for the a really good turnaround story, be it watching Tyler Perry or Jay-Z on “Oprah” (I knew nothing about either before their appearances), or seeing a new member join the Joy Fit Club (after losing more than 100 pounds) on a Monday morning airing of the “Today Show.”  They inspire me.  They remind me of the strength of the individual, and what she or he can accomplish when committed.

Sometimes, though, it takes other people to help us see who we are and what we are capable of.  Witness the Friday Ambush Makeover segment during the fourth hour of the “Today Show” – the Kathie Lee and Hoda hour.   Yes, I work from home, so I can tear myself away from what it is I am doing for the 5-7 minutes it takes to watch.  But, even if I didn’t, and if you don’t, then we could watch the weekly segment online.

Each Friday morning, hairstylist Louis Licari and US Weekly contributor Jill Martin hit the Plaza at Rockefeller Center to choose two women to be their ambushees.  The women present at 7:00 a.m. or earlier know this.  They’ve made their signs, they’ve brought their family and friends, and each one has a story (for these are real women, with real lives).  When the time comes for the “big reveal,” either at 10:15’ish or 10:30, we meet the women, hear their compelling stories, and see them before the two professionals have had a chance to “work their magic.”  The family and/or friends are blindfolded, even the ambushee has not seen herself yet – the new hair cut and new hair color, the new makeup, the new clothes.   Every week I sit waiting and then, to use a worn cliche, my jaw hits the floor.  The transformations (and this truly is the right word) are amazing.  The masks come off, the family and friends scream and say, “Oh my God”, then the ambushee is instructed to turn around and look at herself in the mirror.  Some are simply thrilled (you would be too), others cannot believe that the image they see reflected back, and they fight off the tears.  One woman even gasped, ‘Wow, I’m beautiful.”  And I thought, “Good for you.  Yes, you are!”

What a great gift to be able to give someone, actually two someones, each and every week.

Watch it.  You’ll see for yourself.

Now, I’ve got to go get my sign ready and round up my friends.  Maybe I too can catch the attention of Jill and Louis, and be ambushed.  You never know.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Friday Ambush Makeovers on the “Today Show” at The Epicurean.

meta

