Lower East Side #10 – East River Park

November 2, 2010 § Leave a comment

New York City's East River Park in Manhattan's...

Image via Wikipedia

I love to walk.  I head out  four or five mornings a week.  Which is a good thing, because, if you’ve read previous posts on this blog or my other, Food, Seriously, you’ll know that I also love to eat.  Whenever I move to a new city or neighborhood, one of the first things I do is map out a new route.  I like having it set – the time, the distance – so that I don’t have to think about those things.  My mind is free to wander … wherever.

When I moved to the Lower East Side, I was faced with same challenge, and this time I realized that at least part of my walk could take place along a river, the East River to be exact, and through the East River Park.  It runs from Montgomery Street to East 12th Street, along FDR Drive, and like many others in the city, it’s recently been updated, made user friendly.

The park is unbelievably close.  I cross over FDR Drive at Delancey Street and walk (quickly) alongside the river.  On with way, I pass tennis courts that are busy, even at 7:30 a.m., even when the temperature is 37 degrees; benches installed facing the river like they’re expecting something or someone; a track encircling a soccer field, both of which are in use most mornings; metal tables connected to metal chairs that are mostly empty at this time of day; leafy trees; a baseball diamond; joggers, some leisurely, some running a good clip and checking their watches – a good sign they’re training for Sunday’s ING New York City Marathon; and finally a playground, where I exit the park at East 10th Street.  Throughout my walk there is the East River hit by varying angles of the morning light, the odd boat buzzing by, the Domino Sugar Factory back lit like in a movie, and the Williamsburg Bridge.

How fortunate we are to have these beautiful public spaces – rejuvenated by the city for our pleasure.

And this one on the Lower East Side is to me, daily, a marvel.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Lower East Side #10 – East River Park at The Epicurean.

meta

