Short and Sweet

June 21, 2013 § 1 Comment

If you’ve read any of the previous Epicurean posts, you’ll know that brevity is not my strong suit.  I always start out with the intention of keeping it short, but somehow come across additional threads that demand to be woven into whatever story I happen to be telling that day.  I try to ignore them; more often than not they win.  Recently, I’ve managed to catch myself, thereby forcing the production of two longish posts rather than one-so-long-not-even-I-want-to-read-it.  And this meager progress, after having written a piece in which I declared, “Sometimes less is more.”  Clearly, I am not my best student (I can finish writing a 500-page novel, but not a short story).

Today, however, I am committed.

Yesterday, Instagram provided users of their platform with the ability to shoot and share 15-second videos.  The first one to pop up in my feed was from charity:water.  The video captured was that of Sarpan Gamanga, a resident of Engereda village in India, carrying a bowl of clean water at her home.  The story is that she used to have to walk four hours each day to get water – now it takes her 15 seconds.

Video on Instagram is 2.5 times longer than a Twitter Vine.  But maybe that’s a good thing – it’s long enough to actually get an idea across, but short enough to keep hold of our dwindling attention spans.

Which is my cue to wrap it up.  Short and sweet.

P.S. You can read more here.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Short and Sweet

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Short and Sweet at The Epicurean.

meta

